Phrases From The KJV – #2

I’ve been reading through the KJV this year since it’s its 400th anniversary.  Since the last post, I’ve read Genesis 27 through 50.  Here is the second (view the first here) collection of words or phrases which caught my attention, for whatever reason, with no context at all:

  • My father peradventure will feel me, and I shall seem to him as a deceiver;
  • And Rebekah took goodly raiment of her eldest son Esau,
  • And Isaac trembled very exceedingly,
  • And Jacob kissed Rachel, and lifted up his voice, and wept.
  • wherefore then hast thou beguiled me?
  • And Reuben went in the days of wheat harvest, and found mandrakes in the field,
  • Thou must come in unto me; for surely I have hired thee with my son’s mandrakes.
  • ringstraked
  • yesternight,
  • And Jacob was wroth, and chode with Laban:
  • he took her, and lay with her, and defiled her. And his soul clave unto Dinah the daughter of Jacob, and he loved the damsel, and spake kindly unto the damsel.
  • Get me this damsel to wife.
  • Ye have troubled me to make me to stink among the inhabitants of the land,
  • Reuben went and lay with Bilhah his father’s concubine: and Israel heard it.
  • And Isaac gave up the ghost, and died, and was gathered unto his people, being old and full of days:
  • These were the dukes of Esau:
  • these were the dukes that came of Aholibamah
  • And Bela died, [take that, Twihards!]
  • and, behold, your sheaves stood round about, and made obeisance to my sheaf.
  • Ishmeelites came from Gilead with their camels bearing spicery
  • Behold, my master wotteth not what is with me in the house,
  • Wherefore look ye so sadly to day?
  • seven well favoured kine and fatfleshed;
  • and he gave their asses provender.
  • And Joseph made haste; for his bowels did yearn upon his brother:
  • So now it was not you that sent me hither, but God:
  • son of a Canaanitish woman.
  • The days of the years of my pilgrimage are an hundred and thirty years: few and evil have the days of the years of my life been,
  • for why should we die in thy presence? for the money faileth.
  • guiding his hands wittingly
  • Unstable as water, thou shalt not excel;
  • for in their anger they slew a man, and in their selfwill they digged down a wall.
  • and he shall yield royal dainties.
  • But as for you, ye thought evil against me; but God meant it unto good, to bring to pass, as it is this day, to save much people alive.
    • Ted Oh
    • January 17th, 2011

    But did he not sod pottage with the spicery which hath come up from the sons of Ishmeel, and cause the bowels to yearn?

  1. April 3rd, 2011

Leave a Reply

