Was C.S. Lewis a Calvinist?

This is by far the most controversial title to a post yet.

My gut reaction to this question would have been, “Not in the slightest.”

Doug Wilson answers, to my surprise, in the affirmative:

I happen to know an Anglican who says he agrees with the 39 Articles, but he is emphatically not a Calvinist; he says things like “faith is a merited gift” and “the problem with Jonathan Edwards is that he’s too God-centered.”

Hm. I don’t really know what to say.

[Note: those using a feed reader may have to click through to see the video.]

  1. Disclaimer: I’m not going to try to defend Wilson’s position; in fact, I’m not even comfortable saying I agree with him. It’s just a really curious thing to say.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

