To Love Another Person is to See the Face of God – Les Miserables –

The story of Les Misérables has caused me to think about redemption in such a way that I feel that I understand my life in Christ better. There is so much to say about the story (as I have only seen the movie with Liam Neeson and the 25th anniversary concert, I am lacking in actual details from the book!) that one doesn’t know where to start. I have to still sort this stuff out in my mind which is spinning in circles. I need to read the book first to really be sure of what I am reading. The movie and musical present slightly different redemptive perspectives and so I am working through the decisions each made and am excited to read the book! Until I can formulate my thoughts better, I will post my favorite lyrics from the finale, when Jean ValJean (the main character) dies and those who gave their lives to make possible the marriage that is one of the most beautiful and romantic stories you will ever read:

 

FANTINE (The bride’s deceased mother):

Come with me

Where chains will never bind you

All your grief

At last, at last behind you

Lord in heaven;

Look down on him in mercy

 

VALJEAN:

Forgive me all my trespasses and take me to your glory

 

FANTINE, VALJEAN AND EPONINE (Friend and unrecognized lover of the groom who died delivering his love-letter to the bride before the battle):

Take my hand

And lead me to salvation

Take my love

For love is everlasting

And remember

The truth that once was spoken:

To love another person is to see the face of god

 

ALL:

Do you hear the people sing?

Lost in the valley of the night

It is the music of a people who are climbing to the light

For the wretched of the earth

There is a flame that never dies

Even the darkest nights will end and the sun will rise

 

They will live again in freedom in the garden of the lord

They will walk behind the ploughshare

They will put away the sword

The chain will be broken and all men will have their reward!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

